UM 2020 – Strategic Plan

The University of Mississippi

Strategic Working Groups

The Strategic Working Groups were formed in April of 2011, and are made up of members of the Strategic Planning Council, as well as nominees from across the university community. The groups were made up of a mix of faculty, staff, and students (view roster in PDF format). Each group was assigned one of the following Priorities of Excellence:

Undergraduate Education & Student Success

Chair: Dr. Michael Metcalf, Associate Provost for International Affairs and Professor of History
Emailmmetcalf@olemiss.edu

Graduate & Professional Education

Chair: Dr. Maurice Eftink, Dean of Graduate Studies
Emaileftink@olemiss.edu

Research, Scholarship, Innovation & Creativity

Chair: Dr. Alice Clark, Vice Chancellor for Research & Sponsored Programs
Emailvcrsp@olemiss.edu

The Collegiate Experience

Chair: Dr. Larry Ridgeway, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Emaillridgewa@olemiss.edu

Faculty

Chair: Dr. Bob Barnard, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Emailrwbjr@olemiss.edu

Staff

Chair: Mr. Ryan Upshaw, Staff Council President & Regional Admissions Counselor, Honors College
Emailrlupshaw@olemiss.edu

Transformation Through Service

Chair: Dr. Noel Wilkin, Associate Provost
Emailnwilkin@olemiss.edu

The working groups met throughout the month of May and finalized their recommendations in June of 2011. The recommendations from each group were combined into the final, campus-wide strategic plan that was approved by the Strategic Planning Council and Chancellor Jones in July. View the full UM 2020 report.