UM 2020 – Strategic Plan

The University of Mississippi

Strategic Planning Council

Overview

The University’s Strategic Planning Council (SPC) is the University’s advisory body on strategic planning. The SPC brings together representatives of various constituencies to promote a broader consideration of campus-wide strategic initiatives of major scope and importance that often include more than one division.

The strategic planning efforts addressed by the SPC will be shared with the University’s constituencies through the members. Wherever feasible and timely, the work of the SPC will be integrated with existing planning processes in the University divisions and organizational units.

The SPC will support the University with the development and adoption of the university’s new strategic plan, UM 2020. The SPC will facilitate the planning process by:

  1. analyzing institutional data and  collecting input from the university community,
  2. monitoring and reviewing the institution’s mission and vision, core values,
  3. assessing the institution’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats, and
  4. renewing the university’s strategic planning framework including UM’s strategic priorities and university-wide goals.

Membership

The Strategic Planning Council, chaired by an Associate Provost, includes a representative from Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, Multicultural Affairs, and Research.

In addition, two representatives from the Dean’s Council, one Department Chair, the presidents of the Associated Student Body and Graduate Student Council, a representative of the Staff Council, and six representatives from the Faculty Senate serve as voting members of the SPC.

A representative from the following planning/infrastructure related positions are represented as (non-voting) ex-officio members, including: International Affairs, Outreach and Continuing Studies, Information Technology, Strategic Planning, Institutional Research, Facilities Planning, Human Resources, Physical Plant, Development, University Libraries, and the institution’s SACSCOC liaison.

Mr. Ian Banner

Director of Facilities Planning

ibanne@olemiss.edu


Dr. Linda Chitwood

Interim Associate Provost for Outreach and Continuing Studies
Professor of Exercise Science

lchitwoo@olemiss.edu


Dr. Alice Clark

Vice Chancellor for Research and Sponsored Programs

vcrsp@olemiss.edu


Dr. Donald Cole

Assistant Provost and Assistant to the Chancellor Concerning Minority Affairs
Associate Professor of Mathematics

dcole@olemiss.edu


Dean Ken Cyree

School of Business, Dean

kbcyree@olemiss.edu


Dr. Donna Davis

Associate Professor of Law

donnad@olemiss.edu


Dr. Oliver Dinius

Croft Associate Professor of History and International Studies

dinius@olemiss.edu


Dr. Don Dyer

Chair of Modern Languages
Professor of Russian and Linguistics

mldyer@olemiss.edu


Dr. Maurice Eftink

Associate Provost, Interim Director of Institutional Research
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
SACSCOC Liaison
eftink@olemiss.edu


Dr. Nosa O. Egiebor

Senior International Officer

negiebor@olemiss.edu


Dr. Richard G. Forgette

Interim Dean of the College of Liberal Arts

forgette@olemiss.edu


Dr. Dwight D. Frink

Associate Professor of Management

dfrink@olemiss.edu


Dr. Kathy Gates

Chief Information Officer

kfg@olemiss.edu


JonesMr. Clay Jones

Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Human Resources

chj1@olemiss.edu


Mr. Nicholas Keeling

Graduate Student Council President


Dr. Brandi Hephner LeBanc

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Associate Professor of Leadership and Counselor Education

bhl@olemiss.edu


Mrs. Kara Parham

Academic Advisory, Health Professions Advising Office
Staff Council Representative

kara@olemiss.edu


Mr. Ashton Pearson

Director of Physical Plant Department

ashton@olemiss.edu


RholesDean Julia Rholes

Dean of Libraries

jrholes@olemiss.edu


Mr. Davis Rogers

Associated Student Body President

 


Dr. David J. Rutherford

Associate Professor of Public Policy Leadership

druther@olemiss.edu


SellarDr. Christian Sellar

Assistant Professor of Public Policy Leadership

csellar@olemiss.edu


Dr. Adam E. Smith

Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering

aes@olemiss.edu


WeakleyMr. Wendell Weakley

President, CEO

wendell@umfoundation.com


WeberDr. Annie Davis Weber

Manager of Strategic Planning

adweber@olemiss.edu


WilkinChair Dr. Noel Wilkin

Chair
Associate Provost, Professor of Pharmacy Administration
Research Professor in RIPS
nwilkin@olemiss.edu